The Borkin Button – Guide

Hi all,

Once I saw video made by ETA Prime about One-click Shortcut Key plug or on some sites its called dust proof plug. I thought, “wow that’s good :-)”. I looked to eBay and ordered me an button. They are shipping two for good price (~1$) and they are working great. I am using this button with my Retropie setup but this will work also for Raspbian.

*Disclaimer – I am not responsible for any damage you can do to your Raspberry Pi, software, or to you.*

To get it working you need cable like the one below. You just need to get rid of the ends.

20170508_073756

Then you need the button 🙂

Then you have few options. Use soldering iron, tape the cable or use hot glue. I went for hot glue. The main and only reason was that I am still waiting for my new soldering iron.

So obviously you need hot glue gun.

20170508_082901.jpg

Steps

1: Cut the cable to have it like on picture below. Don’t forget to do the same to both ends.

20170508_073839

2: Bend both ends of the cable around pins on raspberry pi. (On the below picture is only an example how I did it on the Pi).

20170508_083350.jpg

Important is to use correct pins see picture below. Third pin on GPIO header (so if you looking on your Rpi as me on the picture its third pin on bottom row) and middle pin of 3.5 mm audio jack.

20170419_180020.jpg

3: Heat up the hot glue gun and use it on the bended ends around pins

4: Final look

20170508_073627

6: Don’t forget to install your button 🙂

20170508_073659

5: Install script

The original source is at http://pie.8bitjunkie.net/retropie-shutdown-and-startup-switch-the-easy-way. I installed the script using SSH method. I am Windows user so I used Putty.

Once you are logged on (standard user name is Pi and password is Raspberry) paste this line curl http://pie.8bitjunkie.net/shutdown/setup-shutdown.sh | bash

Putty1.jpg

Hit Enter on your keyboard and wait untill script is installed. Once its finished go to your Rpi and press the button (for me it didn’t worked on the first try so I had to reglued on connection on the middle pin of 3.5 mm audio jack) Rpi should shut down it self like on my video below. If you press the button again Rpi will boot up.

Thank you Matt Borkin for the idea and script. Also Thank you ZT Group. 🙂

Leave a Reply

